Plane Ride Playlist

With my departure from New York to South Korea looming, I was thinking about the many things I might occupy myself with while on the plane.  It is around a 14 hour flight which will be quite a long trip.

STATUS UPDATE: Before I get into my entertainment options, I wanted to update you on what will be happening.  I leave at the end of this week for Korea and arrive early next week.  School doesn’t officially start until September 1st so I’ll be traveling around Korea for a few days before that.  I have a rough sketch of where I’m going but I’m not going to ruin the surprise for those of you who want to see my awesome pictures.

There are loads of entertainments options that can truly keep you occupied during long trips like mine.

illberightthererain

First off, BOOKS!  As an English major, I’m sort of required to say these first but I also can’t wait to devour the books I’m bringing for the plane ride.  Obviously, if you’re going on a long trip, your taste in books will be different than mine but make sure that you pack some awesome reads that you know will hold your interest (like a favorite author or genre).  I’m bringing Rain by Amanda Sun and I’ll Be Right There by Kyung-Sook Shin.  I’ve read both these authors previously and know that they are fantastic at what they do.

I can throw movies onto this list but for this trip, I’m not bringing any movies since my laptop doesn’t have a CD-ROM (I’d have to bring my external CD-ROM to play movies but I’m saving luggage space and not bringing it.).  A great movie to get you in the mode to travel is The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (directed by Ben Stiller).

MUSIC is also going to be a huge thing when traveling.  One, it’s a little slice of home that I’ll be able to listen to while on the move.  Two, listening to music while around others (say: on a plane, for example)  or with others (like the gif from Heartstrings below) makes me feel like I’m in a music video or something as equally cool.  Even though I’ll have my IPod on shuffle, I created a small 15-song playlist for the purpose of this post.  Here’s an example of some of the awesome songs, I might listen to on my way to South Korea:

music

Paradise by T-Max

Best I Ever Had by Gavin DeGraw

Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

Can’t Stop by CNBlue

Don’t You Worry Child by Swedish House Mafia

The Great Escape by Nell

It’s Time by Imagine Dragons

Madly by FT Island

Summertime Sadness by Lana Del Rey

Torpedo by Jillette Johnson

Troublemaker by Olly Murs

Wake Me Up by Avicii

Welcome to the World by Kevin Rudolf

200% by AKMU

1004 by B.A.P.

Leave a Reply

